Dates

Catherine Russel

Peterskirche

T I P

Under the motto "European-American Encounters," Ulf Herden invites female artists (and a handful of male artists) from 18 countries to the 10th edition of his festival.

The central concerts at the Halle Opera House begin with the blues, soul, swing and jazz-based singer Catherine Russell and her trio from New York. The Grammy Award winner, who has been compared to Billie Holiday, will present her successful album "Bring It Back", which has won several awards. Guitarist Susan Weinert and Norwegian singer Torun Eriksen unfold the Nordic-sensual sound universe of their album "Fjord".

The French winner of the Sarah Vaughan International Jazz Vocal-Competition 2012 Cyrille Aimée shines with a jazzy style mix of Roma music and South American rhythm. Marialy Pacheco from Cuba is the winner of the piano competition at the Monteux Jazz Festival 2012. In refined, rhythmic and multi-layered playing she lets her native roots be known with trumpeter Joo Kraus among others as guest.

"Hello Bluebird" is the name of Jane Monheit's new program, in which the soulfully interpreting American voice celebrates the music of Judy Garland. Pianist Sunna Gunnlaugs - born in Iceland, emancipated as a jazz musician in the USA - embodies the festival motto in person. With her trio, she combines bubbling New York groove with Scandinavian elegance full of fascinating emotionality.

The festival highlight is probably the Julia Hülsmann Octet on the final evening of the Opera House Concerts. Julia sets to music a project in which the sung word - one of her trademarks - takes center stage with vocalists Maria Roggen (Norway), Aline Frazão (Angola) and Jelena Kuljic (Serbia). What is particularly appealing about this world premiere is that in the all-women band the pianist plays alternately in traditional piano trio formations of both classical music and jazz: with Gerdur Gunnarsdottir on violin and Susanne Paul on cello, or Eva-like with Kruse on double bass and Klesse on drums. The festival will close with the group SOFIA: a septet of young female jazz musicians selected by a jury in workshops in Cologne, Zurich and Paris, who convince with a wild conglomeration of jazz, rock and pop.

Further concerts with Paula Morelenbaum, Anke Helfrich, Vera Hept, Elizabeth King, Susana Sawoff, Greetje Kauffeld, Ines Reiger, Silvia Droste and Christiana Uikiza will take place in Ulrichs- und Georgenkirche, Objekt 5, Kunstmuseum Moritzburg and Goethe-Theater Bad Lauchstädt. There will be an open-air jazz spectacle on Halle's Peißnitz with free admission, and CityJazz in Halle's city center to close the festival. And the festival goes on tour: Catherine Russell makes guest appearances in Erfurt (Alter Oper) and Leipzig (Peterskirche).

More concerts

Trieders Holz by Teresa Coll Trieders wood
7.3.2024
Kulturhof Gohlis (Werkcafé)
Johnny Griffin by Reyz Flashback  #35: Johnny Griffin (by Hübner/ Kleimann/ Mück/ Müller/ Trunk)
20.3.2024
The naTo
Lucia Cadotsch by Dovile Sermokas 8. HMT Jazzfest (Tag 2)
24.3.2024
Hochschule für Musik und Theater "Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy"
Lucia Cadotsch by Dovile Sermokas 8. HMT Jazzfest (Tag 1)
23.3.2024
Hochschule für Musik und Theater "Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy"
NOUT featuring MATS GUSTAFSSON
29.2.2024
Jazzclub Tonne, Dresden
horns[dʒæz]Session - Young Artists in Concert
29.2.2024
Horns heirs
HMT Stage Night
27.2.2024
Moritzbastei
Bandstand: Live Musik hören
23.2.2024
Hellerau, Dresden
HORNS FLÜGEL FRÜHLING June Cocó Pop
23.2.2024
Horns heirs
horns[dʒæz]Session - Young Artists in Concert
22.2.2024
Horns heirs
Roman Polatzky Trio Improvisation/Jazz
21.2.2024
Horns heirs
HMT Stage Night
20.2.2024
Moritzbastei
Händel-Jazz von und mit ROLF ZIELKE
20.2.2024
Goldmark
Vocal Night – FLINTA-Kompositionen
17.2.2024
Jazzclub Tonne, Dresden
HORNS FLÜGELFRÜHLING Vincent Meißner Jazz
17.2.2024
Horns heirs
Spice’n’Space feat. Omri Abramov
16.2.2024
Blue Note, Dresden
Yesterday – A TRIBUTE TO THE BEATLES, performed by the London West End Beatles
16.2.2024
Gewandhaus
Osmosis – Ein kollaboratives Projekt aus Tanz und Musik
16.2.2024
WERK2
YÆLLEE
16.2.2024
Horns heirs
Mildfire
15.2.2024
UT Connewitz
horns[dʒæz]Session
15.2.2024
Horns heirs

Newsletter

Regular news about our festivals, concerts and the local jazz scene is also delivered directly to your mailbox.

I hereby consent to Jazzclub Leipzig e.V. sending me regular information about events and news in this context by e-mail. I can revoke my consent at any time. I accept the terms of use and have read the privacy policy.

Newsletter registration

Termine

Catherine Russel

Peterskirche

T I P

Unter dem Motto »Europäisch-Amerikanische Begegnungen« lädt Ulf Herden Künstlerinnen (und eine handvoll Künstler) aus 18 Ländern zur 10. Ausgabe seines Festivals ein.

Die zentralen Konzerte im Opernhaus Halle beginnen mit der in Blues, Soul, Swing und Jazz beheimateten Sängerin Catherine Russell und ihrem Trio aus New York. Die mit Billie Holiday verglichene Grammy-Preisträgerin stellt ihr mehrfach ausgezeichnetes Erfolgsalbum »Bring It Back« vor. Gitarristin Susan Weinert und die norwegische Sängerin Torun Eriksen entfalten das nordisch-sinnliche Klanguniversum ihres Albums »Fjord«.

Die französische Gewinnerin der Sarah Vaughan International Jazz Vocal-Competition 2012 Cyrille Aimée brilliert mit einem jazzigen Stilmix aus Roma-Musik und südamerikanischer Rhythmik. Marialy Pacheco aus Kuba ist Gewinnerin des Klavierwettbewerbs beim Monteux Jazz Festival 2012. In raffiniertem, rhythmusbetontem und vielschichtigem Spiel läßt sie mit Trompeter Joo Kraus u.a. als Gast ihre heimatliche Wurzeln erkennen.

»Hello Bluebird« heißt des neue Programm von Jane Monheit, in dem die gefühlvoll interpretierende US-amerikanische Stimme Musik von Judy Garland zelebriert. Pianistin Sunna Gunnlaugs – in Island geboren, in den USA als Jazzerin emanzipiert – verkörpert in Person das Festivalmotto. Mit ihrem Trio verbindet sie brodelnden New York Groove mit skandinavischer Eleganz voller faszinierender Emotionalität.

Das Festival-Highlight ist wohl am Abschlussabend der Opernhauskonzerte das Julia Hülsmann Oktett. Julia vertont ein Projekt, in dem das gesungene Wort – eines ihrer Markenzeichen – mit den Vokalistinnen Maria Roggen (Norwegen), Aline Frazão (Angola) und Jelena Kuljic (Serbien) im Mittelpunkt steht. Besonders reizvoll ist bei dieser Uraufführung, dass in der All-women-Band die Pianistin alternierend in traditioneller Klaviertrio-Besetzung sowohl der Klassik als auch des Jazz spielt: mit Gerdur Gunnarsdottir auf der Violine und Susanne Paul auf dem Cello bzw. Eva-like mit Kruse am Kontrabass und Klesse am Schlagzeug. Den Festivalausklang bestreitet die Gruppierung SOFIA: ein Septett mit in Workshops in Köln, Zürich und Paris per Jury ausgewählten jungen Jazzerinnen, die mit wildem Konglomerat aus Jazz, Rock und Pop überzeugen.

Weitere Konzerte mit Paula Morelenbaum, Anke Helfrich, Vera Hept, Elizabeth King, Susana Sawoff, Greetje Kauffeld, Ines Reiger, Silvia Droste und Christiana Uikiza finden in Ulrichs- und Georgenkirche, Objekt 5, Kunstmuseum Moritzburg und Goethe-Theater Bad Lauchstädt statt. Bei freiem Eintritt gibt es ein Open-Air-Jazzspektakel auf der halleschen Peißnitz und zum Festivalabschluss CityJazz in Halles Innenstadt. Und das Festival geht auf Tour: Catherine Russell gastiert in Erfurt (Alter Oper) und Leipzig (Peterskirche).

Weitere Konzerte

EUPHORIUM 2023
4.12.2023
die naTo
Advezz Benefizz Jazz Advenzz Benefizz Jazz 2023 (Stage Night Special – Kooperation von dem fizz Kollektiv, HMT und Jazzclub Leipzig)
12.12.2023
Moritzbastei
HMT Bigband ©Jeremy Thomas Hochschul Bigband »Moments in Time«
20.1.2024
die naTo
HMT Stage Night
30.1.2024
Moritzbastei
HMT Stage Night – The Profs
29.1.2024
Kulturhof Gholis
Hymnisch – Wollny mit Frankes »Genesis« (18.- 19.01.2024)
18.1.2024
Gewandhaus, Großer Saal
HMT Stage Night
16.1.2024
Moritzbastei
CAMPUS JAZZ – FABRICE TAREL TRIO (FR)
13.1.2024
Mediencampus Villa Ida
Jule Malischke
13.1.2024
Jazzclub Tonne, Dresden
Kai & Funky von Ton Steine Scherben feat. Birte Volta
13.1.2024
Moritzbastei
Dub Spencer & Trance Hill feat. Umberto Echo Live in Surround
12.1.2024
Werk 2
Jeremy Sassoons «MOJO 2024»
11.1.2024
A-Trane, Berlin
HMT Stage Night
9.1.2024
Moritzbastei
Christoph Reuter – Musik macht schlau! (Außer manche)
29.12.2023
Kabarett academixer
Weihnachtsjazz mit SantaJAZZClaus
22.12.2023
Zwenkau
hammond[dʒæz]Session #9
21.12.2023
Horns Erben
LeipJAZZig – Session im NSL
20.12.2023
NSL
Das Goldene Sofa – Die Weihnachtsshow
20.12.2023
Horns Erben
HMT Stage Night
19.12.2023
Moritzbastei
Klazz Brothers & Cuba Percussion: Zimtstern & Stollen Am Palmenstrand
19.12.2023
Georg-Friedrich-Händel-Halle, Halle
Weihnachtlich Besinnliches
18.12.2023
A-Trane, Berlin

Newsletter

Regelmäßige Neuigkeiten zu unseren Festivals, Konzerten und zur hiesigen Jazzszene gibt es auch direkt ins Postfach.

Hiermit willige ich ein, dass der Jazzclub Leipzig e.V. mir regelmäßig Information über Veranstaltungen und Neuigkeiten in diesem Zusammenhang per E-Mail zusendet. Meine Einwilligung kann ich jederzeit widerrufen. Die Nutzungsbedingungen akzeptiere ich und die Datenschutzerklärung habe ich gelesen.

Anmeldung zum Newsletter