Dates

MusikZeitErika Stucky "Call Me Helium: The Music of Jimi Hendrix".

UT Connewitz

Jazz calendar tip

Half a year before big brother's 40th birthday, little sister turns 25. The MusikZeit celebrates over two days and focuses on the musical instrument par excellence. From the infinitely variable scale of the violin and the sonority of the saxophone to the percussiveness of the drums and the infinite realm of imitation - only the human voice can do all that. And since it's all about voices, Erika Stucky with all her presence, energy and unrestrained spontaneity can't be missing. The Swiss comes to the UT with her band and the brand-new and yet already highly praised Jimi Hendrix project "Call me Helium". Stucky grew up in the hippie biotope of San Francisco and loved the electric guitar (half) god as a child - but especially because he sang lines like "Excuse me while I kiss the sky".

Erika Stucky (voc), Christy Doran (g), Jamaaladeen Tacuma (b) and Fredy Studer (dr)

Between avant-garde swing and groovy noise, on 12.2., the first MusikZeit-day 2016, an advance-beleaguered young German jazz band meets four celebrated young singers. Concerts by Max Andrzejewski's Hut and Choir are slightly reminiscent of a dodgeball game at the beginning. Here one, there the other, a mixing of the two teams does not seem to be planned at all at first. But when the game takes its course, a unity like no other emerges from the initially initiated separation. There is a lot of quoting around, a lot of jumbling up and reassembling according to an astonishing new logic. And there is also plenty of room for passionate nonsense. The evening is opened by the singer with the most beautiful name in the world: Zola Mennenöh presents her unusual versions of American jazz and folk pearls. At her side: double bassist Greg Cohen, who has just recorded the excellent country album "High Noon" (ACT) with Hütte boss Max Andrzejewski and Kalle Kalima.

More concerts

Trieders Holz by Teresa Coll Trieders wood
7.3.2024
Kulturhof Gohlis (Werkcafé)
Johnny Griffin by Reyz Flashback  #35: Johnny Griffin (by Hübner/ Kleimann/ Mück/ Müller/ Trunk)
20.3.2024
The naTo
„Music for Black Pigeons“
11.2.2024
Cinema bar Prague Spring
Volker Heuken Sextett »Contemporary Jazz«
2.2.2024
the nato
Enders, Chicco, Rossy »MicroOrganisms«
16.2.2024
the nato
HMT Bigband ©Jeremy Thomas University big band "Moments in Time"
20.1.2024
die naTo
HMT Stage Night
30.1.2024
Moritzbastei
HMT Stage Night - The Profs
23.1.2024
Culture yard Gholis
HMT Stage Night
16.1.2024
Moritzbastei
HMT Stage Night
9.1.2024
Moritzbastei
HMT Stage Night
19.12.2023
Moritzbastei
HMT Stage Night
5.12.2023
Moritzbastei
Rainald Brederling Quintet +++ CANCELLED+++ Rainald Brederling Quintett
16.12.2023
The naTo
Benedikt Reising "A Million O Clock"
8.12.2023
The naTo
Melt Trio
1.12.2023
The naTo
Prodium discussion ©Omar Flores On the Networking of the German and Polish Jazz Scene. A conversation format.
18.10.2023
New Play Leipzig
Plate building pyramid ©Stefan Ibrahim Stefan Ibrahim. I dream of gardens in the desert sand - images of the Orient in popular culture
21.10.2023
die naTo
Chopin ©Historia Trzech Fortepianow Chopin. I am not afraid of the dark
19.10.2023
Polish Institute
Grachan Moncur FLASHBACK#34: GRACHAN MONCUR (by Demel/Fröhlich/Hübner/Reznichenko/Thönes)
19.1.2024
Culture yard Gohlis
Yuval Ron Trio
17.11.2023
The naTo
Marie Tjong-Ayong DJ Set
21.10.2023
WORK 2 Hall D

Newsletter

Regular news about our festivals, concerts and the local jazz scene is also delivered directly to your mailbox.

I hereby consent to Jazzclub Leipzig e.V. sending me regular information about events and news in this context by e-mail. I can revoke my consent at any time. I accept the terms of use and have read the privacy policy.

Newsletter registration

Termine

MusikZeit: Erika Stucky »Call Me Helium: The Music of Jimi Hendrix«

UT Connewitz

Jazzkalender-Tipp

Ein halbes Jahr vorm 40. des großen Bruders wird die kleine Schwester 25 Jahre alt. Die MusikZeit feiert an zwei Tagen und rückt dabei das Musikinstrument schlechthin in den Fokus. Von der stufenlosen Skala der Geige und der Klangfülle des Saxophons über die Perkussivität des Schlagzeugs zum unendlichen Reich der Imitation – all das kann nur: die menschliche Stimme. Und da es also »UmStimmen« geht, darf Erika Stucky mit all ihrer Präsenz, Energie und ungebremsten Spontaneität natürlich nicht fehlen. Die Schweizerin kommt mit Band und dem nagelneuen und doch schon hochgelobten Jimi-Hendrix-Projekt »Call me Helium« ins UT. Stucky wuchs im Hippie-Biotop San Francisco auf und liebte den E-Gitarren-(Halb)-Gott schon als Kind – vor allem aber, weil er Zeilen wie „Excuse me while I kiss the sky“ sang.

Erika Stucky (voc), Christy Doran (g), Jamaaladeen Tacuma (b) und Fredy Studer (dr)

Zwischen avantgardistischem Swing und groovigem Noise trifft am 12.2., dem ersten MusikZeit-Tag 2016, eine vorschussbelorbeerte junge deutsche Jazzband auf vier gefeierte junge Sängerinnen. Konzerte von Max Andrzejewskis Hütte und Chor erinnern zu Beginn leicht an ein Völkerballspiel. Hier die einen, da die anderen, eine Durchmischung der beiden Teams scheint zunächst gar nicht vorgesehen. Doch wenn das Spiel seinen Lauf nimmt, entsteht aus der anfänglich initiierten Separierung eine Einheit sondergleichen. Es wird munter durch die Gegend zitiert, vieles durcheinander gewürfelt und nach einer verblüffend neuen Logik wieder zusammengesetzt. Und für leidenschaftlichen Unsinn bleibt auch jede Menge Platz. Eröffnet wird der Abend von der Sängerin mit dem schönsten Namen der Welt: Zola Mennenöh präsentiert ihre ungewöhnlichen Versionen amerikanischer Jazz- und Folkperlen. Dabei an ihrer Seite: Kontrabassist Greg Cohen, der gerade mit Hütte-Chef Max Andrzejewski und Kalle Kalima das hervorragende Country-Album »High Noon« (ACT) aufgenommen hat.

Weitere Konzerte

HMT Stage Night HMT Stage Night
28.2.2023
Moritzbastei
BUREAU BUREAU
17.2.2023
Die NaTo
HMT Stage Night HMT Stage Night
21.2.2023
Moritzbastei, Ratstonne
HMT Stage Night HMT Abschluss Konzert: Elias Vollmer
15.2.2023
Horns Erben
HMT Stage Night HMT Stage Night
7.2.2023
Moritzbastei, Ratstonne
Lisbeth Quartett
5.2.2023
die NaTo
HMT Stage Night HMT Big Band
21.1.2023
Die NaTo
Eva Klesse Quartett by Geraldine Hutt EVA KLESSE QUARTETT – das große Jubiläumskonzert 
14.1.2023
die NaTo
Horace Silver by Dmitri Savitski FLASHBACK #31: Horace Silver (by Olga Rezniczenko)
22.12.2022
Werkcafé Kulturhof Gohlis
Gelodert Szabó's Ideal Orchestra Gellért Szabó’s Ideal Orchester
5.12.2022
Die NaTo
The Profs by Steffen Pohle HMT Stage Night: The Profs
31.1.2023
Kulturhof Gohlis
HMT Stage Night Spezial
24.1.2023
Moritzbastei
EUPHORIUM
20.11.2022
naTo
Euphorium
19.12.2022
naTo
Bureau Bureau – ABGESAGT WEGEN KRANKHEIT
30.11.2022
Kulturhof Gohlis
Kreisberg meets Veras
21.11.2022
Kulturhof Gohlis
Mirna Bogdanovic – Achtung! Entfällt krankheitsbedingt, weitere Infos folgen –
18.11.2022
die nato
Kojack Kossakamvwe by Tobias Schuetze Workshopkonzert mit Kojack Kossakamvwe 
29.10.2022
Schaubühne Lindenfels
Tape Loop Workshop Tape Loop Workshop
28.10.2022
KUB Galerie
Nubya Garcia
22.10.2022
Oper Leipzig
Trio Amore by Jan König Trio Amore #1
23.10.2022
Libelle

Newsletter

Regelmäßige Neuigkeiten zu unseren Festivals, Konzerten und zur hiesigen Jazzszene gibt es auch direkt ins Postfach.

Hiermit willige ich ein, dass der Jazzclub Leipzig e.V. mir regelmäßig Information über Veranstaltungen und Neuigkeiten in diesem Zusammenhang per E-Mail zusendet. Meine Einwilligung kann ich jederzeit widerrufen. Die Nutzungsbedingungen akzeptiere ich und die Datenschutzerklärung habe ich gelesen.

Anmeldung zum Newsletter