Dates

Shostakovich Days (22-24.6.)

Concert barn (Gohrisch)

TIP

Opening concert with works by Dmitri Shostakovich and Witold Lutosławski and jam session on Shostakovich themes - Denis Matsuev (p), Alexander Malofeev (p), Tibor Gyenge (v), Federico Kasik (v), Norbert Anger (vc).

Gohrisch - that almost sounds like Shostakovich. After all, the venue for the now established "Shostakovich Days" is the place of origin of his legendary 8th String Quartet, which he composed here in 1960 in the face of war-ravaged Dresden as one of his key works in inner turmoil. Leipzig, with the celebration of the 200th anniversary of J. S. Bach's death, was already a prominent station for him in 1950, where he was inspired to write the Preludes and Fugues op. 87.

This time Gohrisch has the motto "Shostakovich and Polish Modernism". In addition to Dmitri Shostakovich, the focus is on fellow composers known to him from the Warsaw Autumn with reasonably round birthdays Witold Lutosławski (105), Krzysztof Penderecki (85) and Krzysztof Meyer (75).

In the concert barn of the idyllic climatic health resort Gohrisch, central chamber music, choral and orchestral works will be heard, which will illustrate the mutual influences and own handwriting of the four composers. Renowned musicians will be featured in three world premieres and three German premieres, among others.

Musical highlights include a string quartet by Meyer written for the festival, a new version of a Ciaccona by Penderecki, and works by Honegger, Mahler, and Stravinsky arranged by Shostakovich for two pianos and four hands, respectively. The recent sensational find of an Impromptu for viola and piano by Shostakovich is heard for the first time.

By the way, but not least: Leipzig's new Gewandhaus dramaturge Tobias Niederschlag will moderate a conversation about the festival motto with Penderecki and Meyer, among others!

More concerts

»JAZZRUCK« – KONZERT FÜR DEMOKRATIE
8.8.2024
Die nato
Bloke + Luna Vega
11.7.2024
Live even better
Ghostwoman
29.8.2024
Conne Island
Cologne Jazzweek
31.8.2024
Köln
Sandman’s Calling
30.8.2024
Die Tonne (Dresden)
Sing Dela Sing
27.8.2024
Arena at the Panometer
Emma Ruth Rundle
26.8.2024
UT Connewitz
Helge Schneider
25.8.2024
Park stage
Rotor/ Bikini Beach
24.8.2024
Arena at the Panometer
Moka Efti Orchestra
23.8.2024
Geyser House
Jazz Festival Saalfelden
22.8.2024
Saalfelden
Mduo Moctar & Takh
20.8.2024
UT Connewitz
Allah Las
19.8.2024
UT Connewitz
Alinae Lumr
16.8.2024
Storkow
Jazzwerkstatt Peitz Jazzwerkstatt Peitz (16.-18.08.24)
16.8.2024
Eisen- und Hüttenwerk Peitz
Mine
16.8.2024
Geyerhaus
Faber
9.8.2024
Park stage
Anna Ternheim
2.8.2024
Geyser House
Colours of our World: Konzert des Jugendjazzorchesters Sachsen
2.8.2024
Plant 2
Matej Korbelič Quartett
31.7.2024
Blue Note (Dresden)
Etienne Wittich Trio
28.7.2024
Blue Note (Dresden)
DE

Termine

Schostakowitsch-Tage (22.-24.6.)

Konzertscheune (Gohrisch)

TIPP

Eröffnungskonzert mit Werken von Dmitri Schostakowitsch und Witold Lutosławski sowie Jam Session über Schostakowitsch-Themen • Denis Matsuev (p), Alexander Malofeev (p), Tibor Gyenge (v), Federico Kasik (v), Norbert Anger (vc)

Gohrisch – das klingt fast schon wie Schostakowitsch. Ist doch der Spielort für die inzwischen etablierten »Schostakowitsch Tage« der Entstehungsort seines legendären 8. Streichquartetts, das er hier 1960 angesichts des kriegszerstörten Dresden als eines seiner Schlüsselwerke in innerer Zerissenheit komponierte. Leipzig war mit dem Fest zum 200. Todesjahr von J. S. Bach bereits 1950 eine für ihn markante Station, bei der er zu den Präludien und Fugen op. 87 angeregt wurde.

Diesmal steht Gohrisch unter dem Motto »Schostakowitsch und die polnische Moderne«. Im Blickpunkt sind neben Dmitri Schostakowitsch die ihm vom Warschauer Herbst bekannten Mitstreiter mit einigermaßen runden Geburtstagen Witold Lutosławski (105), Krzysztof Penderecki (85) und Krzysztof Meyer (75).

In der Konzertscheune des idyllischen Luftkurortes Gohrisch erklingen zentrale Kammermusik-, Chor- und Orchesterwerke, die die gegenseitigen Einflüsse und eigenen Handschriften der vier Komponisten verdeutlichen werden. Namhafte Musiker sind dabei u.a. in drei Uraufführungen und drei Deutschen Erstaufführungen zu erleben.

Zu den musikalischen Höhepunkten zählen ein für die Festtage geschriebenes Streichquartett von Meyer, die Neufassung einer Ciaccona von Penderecki sowie die von Schostakowitsch für zwei Klaviere bzw. vierhändig arrangierten Werke von Honegger, Mahler und Strawinsky. Der jüngste Sensationsfund eines Impromptu für Viola und Klavier von Schostakowitsch ist erstmals zu hören.

Übrigens, aber nicht zuletzt: Leipzigs neuer Gewandhausdramaturg Tobias Niederschlag wird ein Gespräch über das Festivalmotto mit u.a. Penderecki und Meyer moderieren!

Weitere Konzerte

»JAZZRUCK« – KONZERT FÜR DEMOKRATIE
8.8.2024
Die nato
Bloke + Luna Vega
11.7.2024
Noch Besser Leben
Ghostwoman
29.8.2024
Conne Island
Cologne Jazzweek
31.8.2024
Köln
Sandman’s Calling
30.8.2024
Die Tonne (Dresden)
Sing Dela Sing
27.8.2024
Arena am Panometer
Emma Ruth Rundle
26.8.2024
UT Connewitz
Helge Schneider
25.8.2024
Parkbühne
Rotor/ Bikini Beach
24.8.2024
Arena am Panometer
Moka Efti Orchestra
23.8.2024
Geyserhaus
Jazzfestival Saalfelden
22.8.2024
Saalfelden
Mduo Moctar & Takh
20.8.2024
UT Connewitz
Allah Las
19.8.2024
UT Connewitz
Alinae Lumr
16.8.2024
Storkow
Jazzwerkstatt Peitz Jazzwerkstatt Peitz (16.-18.08.24)
16.8.2024
Eisen- und Hüttenwerk Peitz
Mine
16.8.2024
Geyerhaus
Faber
9.8.2024
Parkbühne
Anna Ternheim
2.8.2024
Geyserhaus
Colours of our World: Konzert des Jugendjazzorchesters Sachsen
2.8.2024
Werk 2
Matej Korbelič Quartett
31.7.2024
Blue Note (Dresden)
Etienne Wittich Trio
28.7.2024
Blue Note (Dresden)
EN