Dates

20th Festival LeipJAZZig

UT Connewitz

T I P

LeipJAZZig Orchestra & Tobias Morgenstern

Stephan König (lead, comp, arr, p), Thomas Prokein (v), Christoph Schenker (vc), Frank Bartsch (tp), Gundolf Nandico (hrn), Natascha Zickerick (tub), Frank Nowicky - (as, ts, fl), Michael Arnold (ts, as, ss), Henning Plankl (as, bs, cl, bcl), Michael Breitenbach (as, ss), Frank Kaiser (g), Grete Weiser (b), Wolfram Dix (vibra, perc), Wieland Götze (dr) & Tobias Morgestern (akk)

To celebrate their anniversary, the colleagues of LeipJAZZig are treating themselves to five festival days: first three big evenings with big lineups at UT Connewitz, and finally two double concerts at Plan B.
The Leipzig Big Band with its guest singer Pascal von Wrobllewsky will kick off the festival. The big band, founded in 1999 by David Timm and Frank Nowicky, will present arrangements written especially for the festival (March 17).
As at the 15th LeipJAZZig Festival, the LeipJAZZig Orchestra led by Stephan König will meet Thomas Morgenstern, considered by many to be one of Germany's leading accordion players in tango, jazz and world music (March 18).
Then, on the third day of the festival, Swiss clarinetist Claudio Puntin and the Spielvereinigung Sued want to "move mountains." Folk music and texts by Lucerne lyricist Sabina Naef flow here into creative contemporary sounds (19.3.).
On the fourth day of the festival, the move to Plan B takes place: the piano trio around Johannes Bigge plays sophisticated, profound "new jazz from Leipzig", Nypon Syskon & Erik Leuthäuser present their very personal arrangements of traditional German melodies (20.3.).
Jörg Leistner's quartet Four Steps has a similar approach, opening the last evening before the Jazzwerkstatt Leipzig, newly assembled by Michael Breitenbach, concludes the 20th LeipJAZZig Festival by improvising freely and conceptually (21.3.).

More concerts

Flashback #36: Louis Bellson & Sammy Nestico Flashback  #36: Louis Bellson & Sammy Nestico (by HMT Big Band unter der Leitung von Rolf von Nordenskjöld)  
5.7.2024
The naTo
TRIO Paraskevopoulos/Winter/Pröll 
29.6.2024
Das Tietz (Chemnitz)
HMT Abschlusskonzert: Robbi Nakayama
29.6.2024
Horns heirs
Südtirol Jazzfestival Alto Adige (28.6.-7.7.)
28.6.2024
South Tyrol
SYZU
28.6.2024
Horns heirs
JazzBaltica (27.-30.6.)
27.6.2024
TIMMENDORFER STRAND (SCHL.-HOLST.)
Horns[dʒæz]Session
27.6.2024
Horns heirs
HMT Stage Night: Vincent Meissner Trio
26.6.2024
Moritzbastei
HMT Abschlusskonzert: Felix Kantelberg
26.6.2024
Horns heirs
Classic airlife
23.6.2024
Rose Valley
Classic airlife
22.6.2024
Rose Valley
Fête de la musique
20.6.2024
Leipzig
Horns[dʒæz]Session
20.6.2024
Horns heirs
HMT Abschlusskonzert:Müller
19.6.2024
Horns heirs
HMT Stage Night
19.6.2024
Moritzbastei
Halftime
19.6.2024
Conne Island
Montagsjazz im Laden auf Zeit: Viscous consistency – Heuken/Daerr/ Martin/Schaefer
17.6.2024
Time loading
Gisela Horat Trio
15.6.2024
Villa Ida Media Campus
Gershkovich Trio 
14.6.2024
Horns heirs
Hammond[dʒæz]Session #15
13.6.2024
Horns heirs
»BachSpiele 24« (13.-15.6.)
13.6.2024
Hauptbahnhof Osthalle

Newsletter

Regular news about our festivals, concerts and the local jazz scene is also delivered directly to your mailbox.

I hereby consent to Jazzclub Leipzig e.V. sending me regular information about events and news in this context by e-mail. I can revoke my consent at any time. I accept the terms of use and have read the privacy policy.

Newsletter registration

Termine

20. Festival LeipJAZZig

UT Connewitz

T I P

LeipJAZZig-Orkester & Tobias Morgenstern

Stephan König (Leitung, comp, arr, p), Thomas Prokein (v), Christoph Schenker (vc), Frank Bartsch (tp), Gundolf Nandico (hrn), Natascha Zickerick (tub), Frank Nowicky – (as, ts, fl), Michael Arnold (ts, as, ss), Henning Plankl (as, bs, cl, bcl), Michael Breitenbach (as, ss), Frank Kaiser (g), Grete Weiser (b), Wolfram Dix (vibra, perc), Wieland Götze (dr) & Tobias Morgestern (akk)

Zum Jubiläum gönnen sich die Kollegen von LeipJAZZig gleich fünf Festivaltage: zunächst drei große Abende mit großen Besetzungen im UT Connewitz, schließlich zwei Doppelkonzerte im Plan B.
Den Auftakt bestreitet die Leipzig Big Band mit ihrer Gastsängerin Pascal von Wrobllewsky. Die 1999 von David Timm und Frank Nowicky gegründete Bigband präsentiert dabei eigens fürs Festival geschriebene Arrangements (17.3.).
Wie u.a. bereits zum 15. LeipJAZZig-Festival trifft das von Stephan König geleitete LeipJAZZig-Orkester auf Thomas Morgenstern, der vielen als einer der führenden deutschen Akkordeonspielern in Tango, Jazz und Weltmusik gilt (18.3.).
»Berge versetzen« wollen am dritten Festivaltag dann der Schweizer Klarinettist Claudio Puntin und die Spielvereinigung Sued. Volksmusik und Texte der Luzerner Lyrikerin Sabina Naef fließen hier in kreative zeitgenössische Klänge (19.3.).
Am vierten Festivaltag erfolgt dann der Umzug ins Plan B: das Klaviertrio um Johannes Bigge spielt ausgefeilten, tiefsinnigen „neuen Jazz aus Leipzig“, Nypon Syskon & Erik Leuthäuser präsentieren ihre sehr persönlichen Arrangements traditioneller deutscher Melodien (20.3.).
Einen ähnlichen Ansatz hat auch Jörg Leistners Quartett Four Steps, das den letzten Abend eröffnet, bevor die neu von Michael Breitenbach zusammengestellte Jazzwerkstatt Leipzig frei und konzipiert improvisierend das 20. LeipJAZZig-Festival beschließt (21.3.).

Weitere Konzerte

Halftime
31.8.2022
Conne Island
The Gardener & the Tree
26.8.2022
Täubchenthal
Halftime
24.8.2022
Conne Island
Friedrich Rau – Lass uns ein bisschen SWINGEN
20.8.2022
Leutzscher KunstRasen
Axel Prahl und sein Inselrorchester
20.8.2022
Parkbühne
Parcels
19.8.2022
Parkbühne GeyserHaus
Alma Naidu & Band
13.8.2022
Rotkäppchen Sektkellerei Freyburg (Unstrut)
Tribubu
12.8.2022
Tonelli's
Leoniden
11.8.2022
Ballsaal
Halftime
10.8.2022
Conne Island
Electric Jalaba
6.8.2022
Franz Mehlhose (Erfurt)
Kadaver/ All them witches
6.8.2022
Parkbühne
ZAZ
3.8.2022
Parkbühne
Herbie Hancock
2.8.2022
Zitadelle Spandau, Berlin
Rausch
31.7.2022
Residenzschloss (Altenburg)
The Hooters
30.7.2022
Parkbühne
Cinematheque-Sommerkino
30.7.2022
Moritzbastei
Fat Freddy’s Drop
30.7.2022
Zitadelle Spandau (Berlin)
Mighty Oaks
30.7.2022
Täubchenthal
Jethro Tull
29.7.2022
Parkbühne 
Drangsal
29.7.2022
Conne Island

Newsletter

Regelmäßige Neuigkeiten zu unseren Festivals, Konzerten und zur hiesigen Jazzszene gibt es auch direkt ins Postfach.

Hiermit willige ich ein, dass der Jazzclub Leipzig e.V. mir regelmäßig Information über Veranstaltungen und Neuigkeiten in diesem Zusammenhang per E-Mail zusendet. Meine Einwilligung kann ich jederzeit widerrufen. Die Nutzungsbedingungen akzeptiere ich und die Datenschutzerklärung habe ich gelesen.

Anmeldung zum Newsletter