Dates

LeipJAZZig-Orkester I Chamber Orchestra "Artentfaltung

HMT, Great Hall

In the last year of the second decade of two thousand, LeipJAZZig opens the local jazz festival circuit with its quarter-century anniversary. It is extremely gratifying to be able to experience how seasoned LeipJAZZig musicians interact with the next generation of jazz musicians. The opening evening, on which the LeipJAZZig orchestra, chamber orchestra 'artentfaltung' and LeipJAZZig protagonists will premiere Stephan König's work "Inner Orbit", will do justice to the anniversary mode. Recurring themes of human life are staged like inner orbits analogous to the orbits of planets. This will be followed by the royal chamber music arrangement of Gustav Holt's "The Planets". The second showpiece band from the big band stronghold of Leipzig, Spielvereinigung Sued, under the direction of Malte Schiller and with Sebastian Studnitzky on horn, will perform two standard-setting works from the collaboration between Gil Evans and Miles Davis: "Porgy and Bess & Miles Ahead". Classically trained, absorbed by Oscar Peterson, freely trained by Beirach and Wollny, compositionally gifted and pianistically sensitive - Olga Reznichenko manifests an independent sound language with the excellent Heigenhuber/Stadtfeld at her side. Athina Kontou & Band explore their identity as a jazzy double bass player with Greek roots, while Stephan König compiles his personal songbook from the world of contemporary music on the grand piano. The nonet Children Of The Night pays tribute to the arrangers of the former Radio Bigband Leipzig Eberhard Weise and Henry Walther with their compositions/arrangements as well as timeless jazz classics and concludes the festival with a summary: The beginning of spring can sound so beautiful! LeipJAZZig....Jazz....Yes..!

LeipJAZZig-Orkester - Stephan König (ltg, p, comp, arrangement), Thomas Prokein (v), Christoph Schenker (vc), Frank Nowicky (as, cl, fl), Michael Arnold (as, cl), Johannes Moritz (as, cl) Michael Breitenbach (as), Frank Bartsch (tp), Gundolf Nandico (cor), Berns Angerhöfer (tb), Frank Kaiser (g), Kay Kalytta (vb, perc), Stephan Weiser (b), Wieland Götze (dr)

Chamber orchestra "Artentfaltung" - Kerstin Friese (v), Martina Pachmann (v), Anna Maria Kronfeld (v), Adriana Blahunka (v), Ekkehard Holzhausen (v), Angela Hodgson (v), Matthias Schäfer (v), Cora Schwanebeck (br)
Ulrike Strobel (vc), Alejandro Barria (vc), Norbert Stark (kb),
Babett Niclas (harp), Annett Müller (fl), Jürgen Dietze (ob), Axel Andrae (fg), Jochen Pleß (hrn)

More concerts

Wollny & Kühn © Jörg Steinmetz Michael Wollny & Joachim Kühn
19.10.2024
Opera
Cécile McLorin Salvant
19.10.2024
Opera
Flashback #36: Louis Bellson & Sammy Nestico Flashback  #36: Louis Bellson & Sammy Nestico (by HMT Big Band unter der Leitung von Rolf von Nordenskjöld)  
5.7.2024
The naTo
TRIO Paraskevopoulos/Winter/Pröll 
29.6.2024
Das Tietz (Chemnitz)
HMT Abschlusskonzert: Robbi Nakayama
29.6.2024
Horns heirs
Südtirol Jazzfestival Alto Adige (28.6.-7.7.)
28.6.2024
South Tyrol
SYZU
28.6.2024
Horns heirs
JazzBaltica (27.-30.6.)
27.6.2024
TIMMENDORFER STRAND (SCHL.-HOLST.)
Horns[dʒæz]Session
27.6.2024
Horns heirs
HMT Stage Night: Vincent Meissner Trio
26.6.2024
Moritzbastei
HMT Abschlusskonzert: Felix Kantelberg
26.6.2024
Horns heirs
Classic airlife
23.6.2024
Rose Valley
Classic airlife
22.6.2024
Rose Valley
Fête de la musique
20.6.2024
Leipzig
Horns[dʒæz]Session
20.6.2024
Horns heirs
HMT Abschlusskonzert:Müller
19.6.2024
Horns heirs
HMT Stage Night
19.6.2024
Moritzbastei
Halftime
19.6.2024
Conne Island
Montagsjazz im Laden auf Zeit: Viscous consistency – Heuken/Daerr/ Martin/Schaefer
17.6.2024
Time loading
Gisela Horat Trio
15.6.2024
Villa Ida Media Campus
Gershkovich Trio 
14.6.2024
Horns heirs

Newsletter

Regular news about our festivals, concerts and the local jazz scene is also delivered directly to your mailbox.

I hereby consent to Jazzclub Leipzig e.V. sending me regular information about events and news in this context by e-mail. I can revoke my consent at any time. I accept the terms of use and have read the privacy policy.

Newsletter registration

Termine

LeipJAZZig-Orkester I Kammerorchester »Artentfaltung«

HMT, Großer Saal

Im letzten Jahr des zweiten Zweitausender Jahrzehntes eröffnet LeipJAZZig mit seinem Vierteljahrhundert-Jubiläum den hiesigen Jazzfestivalreigen. Dabei erleben zu können, wie gestandene LeipJAZZiger mit der nachfolgenden Jazzergeneration zusammenwirken, ist überaus erfreulich. Dem Jubiläumsmodus gerecht wird schon der Eröffnungsabend, an dem LeipJAZZig-Orkester, Kammerorchesters ‚artentfaltung‘ und LeipJAZZig-Protagonisten Stephan Königs Werk »Inner Orbit« uraufführen. Wiederkehrende Themen des menschlichen Lebens werden wie innere Laufbahnen analog zu Umlaufbahnen von Planeten inszeniert. Dazu passend wird anschließend die königliche kammermusikalische Bearbeitung von Gustav Holts »The Planets« zu hören sein. Als zweite Vorzeigeband aus der Big-Band-Hochburg Leipzig bringt unter der Leitung von Malte Schiller und mit Sebastian Studnitzky am ‘Horn‘ die Spielvereinigung Sued zwei Maßstab setzende Werke aus der Zusammenarbeit von Gil Evans und Miles Davis auf die Bühne: »Porgy and Bess & Miles Ahead«. Klassisch ausgebildet, Oscar Peterson aufgesogen, von Beirach und Wollny frei geschult, kompositorisch begabt und pianistisch sensibel – Olga Reznichenko manifestiert mit den exzellenten Heigenhuber/Stadtfeld an der Seite eine eigenständige Klangsprache. Athina Kontou & Band lotet ihre Identität als jazzende Kontrabassistin mit griechischen Wurzeln aus, während Stephan König am Flügel sein persönliches Songbook aus der Welt der Gegenwartsmusik zusammenstellt. Das Nonett Children Of The Night würdigt die Arrangeure der ehemaligen Radio Bigband Leipzig Eberhard Weise und Henry Walther mit deren Kompositionen /Arrangements sowie zeitlosen Jazzklassikern und führt festivalabschließend zum Resümee: So schön kann Frühlingsanfang klingen! LeipJAZZig….Jazz.…Ja..!

LeipJAZZig-Orkester • Stephan König (ltg, p, comp, arrangement), Thomas Prokein (v), Christoph Schenker (vc), Frank Nowicky (as, cl, fl), Michael Arnold (as, cl), Johannes Moritz (as, cl) Michael Breitenbach (as), Frank Bartsch (tp), Gundolf Nandico (cor), Berns Angerhöfer (tb), Frank Kaiser (g), Kay Kalytta (vb, perc), Stephan Weiser (b), Wieland Götze (dr)

Kammerorchester »Artentfaltung« • Kerstin Friese (v), Martina Pachmann (v), Anna Maria Kronfeld (v), Adriana Blahunka (v), Ekkehard Holzhausen (v), Angela Hodgson (v), Matthias Schäfer (v), Cora Schwanebeck (br)
Ulrike Strobel (vc), Alejandro Barria (vc), Norbert Stark (kb),
Babett Niclas (harp), Annett Müller (fl), Jürgen Dietze (ob), Axel Andrae (fg), Jochen Pleß (hrn)

Weitere Konzerte

TRIO Paraskevopoulos/Winter/Pröll 
29.6.2024
Das Tietz (Chemnitz)
HMT Abschlusskonzert: Robbi Nakayama
29.6.2024
Horns Erben
Südtirol Jazzfestival Alto Adige (28.6.-7.7.)
28.6.2024
Südtirol
SYZU
28.6.2024
Horns Erben
JazzBaltica (27.-30.6.)
27.6.2024
TIMMENDORFER STRAND (SCHL.-HOLST.)
Horns[dʒæz]Session
27.6.2024
Horns Erben
HMT Stage Night: Vincent Meissner Trio
26.6.2024
Moritzbastei
HMT Abschlusskonzert: Felix Kantelberg
26.6.2024
Horns Erben
Klassik airleben
23.6.2024
Rosental
Klassik airleben
22.6.2024
Rosental
Fête de la musique
20.6.2024
Leipzig
Horns[dʒæz]Session
20.6.2024
Horns Erben
HMT Abschlusskonzert:Müller
19.6.2024
Horns Erben
HMT Stage Night
19.6.2024
Moritzbastei
Halftime
19.6.2024
Conne Island
Montagsjazz im Laden auf Zeit: Viscous consistency – Heuken/Daerr/ Martin/Schaefer
17.6.2024
Laden auf Zeit
Gisela Horat Trio
15.6.2024
Mediencampus Villa Ida
Gershkovich Trio 
14.6.2024
Horns Erben
Hammond[dʒæz]Session #15
13.6.2024
Horns Erben
»BachSpiele 24« (13.-15.6.)
13.6.2024
Hauptbahnhof Osthalle
HMT Stage Night
12.6.2024
Moritzbastei

Newsletter

Regelmäßige Neuigkeiten zu unseren Festivals, Konzerten und zur hiesigen Jazzszene gibt es auch direkt ins Postfach.

Hiermit willige ich ein, dass der Jazzclub Leipzig e.V. mir regelmäßig Information über Veranstaltungen und Neuigkeiten in diesem Zusammenhang per E-Mail zusendet. Meine Einwilligung kann ich jederzeit widerrufen. Die Nutzungsbedingungen akzeptiere ich und die Datenschutzerklärung habe ich gelesen.

Anmeldung zum Newsletter