Dates

KUBIQUE - World Jazz Day Festival

Time loading

T I P

The Jazzkollektiv Leipzig invites two friendly collectives to organize a festival for UNESCO's World Jazz Day. The musicians from Leipzig, Cologne and Berlin want to show young people in particular what jazz can be. Free admission for everyone under 18 and tickets starting at 3 euros are intended to achieve this, as are numerous concerts at Leipzig schools on the same day.
The international Berlin-based Wabi-Sabi Orchestra, led by Austrian singer Laura Winkler, is a twelve-piece string ensemble chamber music big band. All pieces refer to the work of author Haruki Murakami, the band name to the Japanese concept of the beauty of the imperfect.
Expressway Sketches plays "Love Surf Music." Twang guitars, tons of spring reverb and the odd boom-chak-chak-chak rhythm are put through the modern-jazz wringer here. Tarantino-familiar instrumental 60s rock meets far-from-retro contemporary jazz improvisation.
Two saxophones, drums, bass: the Leipzig quartet Konglomerat interweaves music with lived stories (whatever that means). Experimental sounds here, anything but clean. After a German tour with the New York band VAX, their first album is now due - in September 2015 on the Leipzig label Resistant Mindz.
Silent Thought just played its premiere concert (on 4.2. at Horns). The (of course) brand new tracks take you into electronic soundscapes with homogeneous grooves. Progressive bands like Jaga Jazzist and Bonobo are here as well declared role models as the New York composer David Binney.

More concerts

Wollny & Kühn © Jörg Steinmetz Michael Wollny & Joachim Kühn
19.10.2024
Opera
Cécile McLorin Salvant
19.10.2024
Opera
Flashback #36: Louis Bellson & Sammy Nestico Flashback  #36: Louis Bellson & Sammy Nestico (by HMT Big Band unter der Leitung von Rolf von Nordenskjöld)  
5.7.2024
The naTo
TRIO Paraskevopoulos/Winter/Pröll 
29.6.2024
Das Tietz (Chemnitz)
HMT Abschlusskonzert: Robbi Nakayama
29.6.2024
Horns heirs
Südtirol Jazzfestival Alto Adige (28.6.-7.7.)
28.6.2024
South Tyrol
SYZU
28.6.2024
Horns heirs
JazzBaltica (27.-30.6.)
27.6.2024
TIMMENDORFER STRAND (SCHL.-HOLST.)
Horns[dʒæz]Session
27.6.2024
Horns heirs
HMT Stage Night: Vincent Meissner Trio
26.6.2024
Moritzbastei
HMT Abschlusskonzert: Felix Kantelberg
26.6.2024
Horns heirs
Classic airlife
23.6.2024
Rose Valley
Classic airlife
22.6.2024
Rose Valley
Fête de la musique
20.6.2024
Leipzig
Horns[dʒæz]Session
20.6.2024
Horns heirs
HMT Abschlusskonzert:Müller
19.6.2024
Horns heirs
HMT Stage Night
19.6.2024
Moritzbastei
Halftime
19.6.2024
Conne Island
Montagsjazz im Laden auf Zeit: Viscous consistency – Heuken/Daerr/ Martin/Schaefer
17.6.2024
Time loading
Gisela Horat Trio
15.6.2024
Villa Ida Media Campus
Gershkovich Trio 
14.6.2024
Horns heirs

Newsletter

Regular news about our festivals, concerts and the local jazz scene is also delivered directly to your mailbox.

I hereby consent to Jazzclub Leipzig e.V. sending me regular information about events and news in this context by e-mail. I can revoke my consent at any time. I accept the terms of use and have read the privacy policy.

Newsletter registration

Termine

KUBIQUE – Festival zum Weltjazztag

Laden auf Zeit

T I P

Das Jazzkollektiv Leipzig lädt zwei befreundete Kollektive ein, um ein Festival zum Weltjazztag der UNESCO zu veranstalten. Die Musiker und Musikerinnen aus Leipzig, Köln und Berlin wollen dabei vor allem jungen Menschen zeigen, was Jazz sein kann. Freier Eintritt für alle unter 18 und Tickets ab 3 Euro sollen das genauso erreichen wie zahlreiche Konzerte an Leipziger Schulen am gleichen Tag.
Das internationale Berliner Wabi-Sabi Orchestra um die österreichische Sängerin Laura Winkler ist eine zwölfköpfige Streicherensemble-Kammermusik-Bigband. Alle Stücke beziehen sich auf das Werk des Autors Haruki Murakami, der Bandname auf das japanische Konzept der Schönheit des Unperfekten.
Expressway Sketches spielt »Love Surf Music«. Twang-Gitarren, tonnenweise Federhall und der eine oder andere Bumm-Tschaktschak-Bumm-Tschak-Rhythmus werden hier durch den Modern-Jazz-Wolf gedreht. Tarantino-bekannter Instrumentaler 60s-Rock trifft fernab von Retro auf zeitgenössische Jazzimprovisation.
Zwei Saxophone, Schlagzeug, Bass: Das Leipziger Quartett Konglomerat verflicht Musik mit gelebten Geschichten (was auch immer das bedeutet). Experimentelles erklingt hier, alles andere als clean. Nach einer Deutschlandtour mit der New Yorker Band VAX steht nun das erste Album an – im September 2015 beim Leipziger Label Resistant Mindz.
Silent Thought spielte gerade erst sein Premierenkonzert (am 4.2. im Horns). Die (natürlich) nagelneuen Stücke entführen mit homogenen Grooves in elektronische Klangwelten. Progressive Bands wie Jaga Jazzist und Bonobo sind hier ebenso erklärte Vorbilder wie der New Yorker Komponist David Binney.

Weitere Konzerte

HMT Big Band
21.1.2023
Die NaTo
Eva Klesse Quartett by Geraldine Hutt EVA KLESSE QUARTETT – das großes Jubiläumskonzert 
14.1.2023
die NaTo
Clemens Christian Poetzsch
9.12.2022
Horns Erben
Kunz/Diller/Obleser/Stadtfeld
1.12.2022
Subotnik
Werner Neumann trifft… Michael Wollny Werner Neumann trifft… Michael Wollny
10.12.2022
Kulturhof Gohlis
Grund zur Annahme
1.12.2022
Kulturhof Gohlis
Release-Konzert von H. C. BEHRENDTSEN mit Companion Songs (Marco Mlynek & Max Andrzejewski)
7.12.2022
Noch Besser Leben (NBL)
Horace Silver by Dmitri Savitski FLASHBACK #31: Horace Silver (by Olga Resniczenko)
22.12.2022
Werkcafé Kulturhof Gohlis
Gelodert Szabó's Ideal Orchestra Gellért Szabó’s Ideal Orchester
5.12.2022
Die NaTo
HMT Stage Night
31.1.2023
HMT Stage Night
24.1.2023
Moritzbastei
HMT Stage Night
17.1.2023
Moritzbastei
Campus Jazz
14.1.2023
Villa Ida
Jeremy Sassoon’s “Mojo”
12.1.2023
A-Trane, Berlin
HMT Stage Night
10.1.2023
Moritzbastei
HMT Stage Night
3.1.2023
Moritzbastei
HMT Stage Night
20.12.2022
Moritzbastei
Horns[dʒæz]Session
22.12.2022
Horns Erben
HMT Stage Night
20.12.2022
Moritzbastei
EUPHORIUM – AKRZ.K L E Z T°
19.12.2022
naTo
EUPHORIUM – AKRZ.K L E Z T°
18.12.2022
naTo

Newsletter

Regelmäßige Neuigkeiten zu unseren Festivals, Konzerten und zur hiesigen Jazzszene gibt es auch direkt ins Postfach.

Hiermit willige ich ein, dass der Jazzclub Leipzig e.V. mir regelmäßig Information über Veranstaltungen und Neuigkeiten in diesem Zusammenhang per E-Mail zusendet. Meine Einwilligung kann ich jederzeit widerrufen. Die Nutzungsbedingungen akzeptiere ich und die Datenschutzerklärung habe ich gelesen.

Anmeldung zum Newsletter