JAzz CALENDAR

Jazz Festival Saalfelden (17-20.8.)

Saalfelden, in the midst of the magnificent Pinzgau mountains, remains an authority on the European festival calendar. Finely organized atmospheric venues invite you there when musicians from five continents unleash their creativity in an experimental way.

Artists in Residence are the Japanese koto player Michiyo Yagi and the Swiss singer Andreas Schaerer, each in a series of different constellations.

Voice phenomenon Schaerer shines among others as Stellar Stutter with American bassist Tim Lefebvre, Swiss drummer Julian Sartorius (Sophie Hunger, Matthew Herbert) and Serbian professorial electronic musician Svetlana Maraš: a real star hour. The rock and avant-pop experienced Michiyo Yagi (John Zorn, Peter Brötzmann) on the many-stringed imperial court instrument from Japan resides three times, including with electric guitarist Eivind Aarset. Highlights from the USA also include trumpeter Dave Douglas in the New Quintet - with Polish pianist Marta Warelis and drummer Joey Baron, among others - and, following in the footsteps of Albert Ayler and John Coltrane, the young tenor Zoh Amba (The New York Times: "Free jazz is her gospel") in the formation Bhakti.

Newsletter

Regular news about our festivals, concerts and the local jazz scene is also delivered directly to your mailbox.

I hereby consent to Jazzclub Leipzig e.V. sending me regular information about events and news in this context by e-mail. I can revoke my consent at any time. I accept the terms of use and have read the privacy policy.

Newsletter registration

JAZzKALENDER

Jazzfestival Saalfelden (17.-20.8.)

Saalfelden inmitten der prächtigen Pinzgauer Bergwelt bleibt eine Instanz im europäischen Festivalkalender. Fein organisiert laden atmosphärige Spielstätten dorthin ein, wenn Musiker und Musikerinnen von fünf Kontinenten ihre Kreativität experimentierfreudig entfesseln.

Artists in Residence sind in jeweils einer Reihe unterschiedlicher Konstellationen diesmal die japanische Koto-Spielerin Michiyo Yagi und der Schweizer Sänger Andreas Schaerer.

Stimmen-Phänomen Schaerer brilliert u.a. als Stellar Stutter mit dem amerikanischen Bassis- ten Tim Lefebvre, dem Schweizer Drummer Julian Sartorius (Sophie Hunger, Matthew Herbert) und der serbischen professoralen Elektronikerin Svetlana Maraš: eine wirkliche Sternstunde. Die Rock- und AvantPop-erfahrene Michiyo Yagi (John Zorn, Peter Brötzmann) am vielsaitigen kaiserlichen Hofinstrument aus Japan residiert dreimal, u. a. mit E-Gitarrist Eivind Aarset. Zu den Highlights aus den USA zählen zudem Trompeter Dave Douglas im New Quintet — u. a. mit der polnischen Pianistin Marta Warelis und dem Schlagzeuger Joey Baron — sowie auf den Spuren von Albert Ayler und John Coltrane die junge Tenoristin Zoh Amba (The New York Times: „Free Jazz ist ihr Gospel“) in der Formation Bhakti.

Newsletter

Regelmäßige Neuigkeiten zu unseren Festivals, Konzerten und zur hiesigen Jazzszene gibt es auch direkt ins Postfach.

Hiermit willige ich ein, dass der Jazzclub Leipzig e.V. mir regelmäßig Information über Veranstaltungen und Neuigkeiten in diesem Zusammenhang per E-Mail zusendet. Meine Einwilligung kann ich jederzeit widerrufen. Die Nutzungsbedingungen akzeptiere ich und die Datenschutzerklärung habe ich gelesen.

Anmeldung zum Newsletter