Dates

MusikZeit 2015 / Denovali 10

UT Connewitz

T ! P

Festival with Piano Interrupted, Poppy Ackroyd, Ricardo Donoso and Field Rotation

The legendary Bochum-based independent label Denovali turns 10 - and Jazzclub invites four Denovali acts to the annual mini-festival MusikZeit . In dark jazz, ambient and drone circles, Denovali has long enjoyed legendary status - not only thanks to its swing festivals in Essen, Berlin and London, but also because of artists like Greg Haines, the Hidden Orchestra or Contemporary Noise Sextet.

Dense arrangements of a fragile piano, richly colored cinematic soundscapes, organic rhythmic textures, and lush, warm strings, Piano Interrupted simultaneously delivers a unique listening experience and music that you want to dive into again and again to discover its hidden secrets and intricate subtleties. It is the joint project of London-based pianist and composer Tom Hodge and French producer Franz Kirmann. One loves classical and minimal, the other electronica, pop and techno. Friends they became nevertheless, fortunately even a band.

Chiming wall clocks and street noise, but also the sounds of waves and gravel from the beach in Brighton flow into Poppy Ackroyd's intimate, achingly beautiful music. With unconventional playing techniques, the Londoner elicits sound textures from her instruments, samples them and chases them through Loop Station and other effects devices. Whereby "chasing" could not be more wrong here: Poppy Ackroyd rather caresses her instruments through the effects. Classically trained on piano and violin, she studied composition in Edinburgh and has been part of the Hidden Orchestra for many years.

Ricardo Donoso's multi-layered 'Anti-Techno' leads from the darkest shadows and depths of the psyche to sun-kissed mornings in Rio de Janeiro: from hauntingly bleak soundscapes and dreamlike imagery to moments of great longing and loneliness. Ricardo Donoso lives in Boston, where he studied composition at the renowned Berklee College and the New England Conservatory. The Brazilian is the drummer of the avant-death metal band Ehnahre and part of the electronic duo Perispirit.

Composer and producer Christoph Berg from Kiel has been experimenting with electronic and classical elements as Field Rotation since 2008. With violin and piano, he combines synthetic sound engineering and natural sounds to tell short stories. Between extreme harshness and poignant melancholy, a palpable inner fragility emerges.

Tickets on sale at Culton and TixForGigs.

More concerts

Wollny & Kühn © Jörg Steinmetz Michael Wollny & Joachim Kühn
19.10.2024
Opera
Cécile McLorin Salvant
19.10.2024
Opera
Flashback #36: Louis Bellson & Sammy Nestico Flashback  #36: Louis Bellson & Sammy Nestico (by HMT Big Band unter der Leitung von Rolf von Nordenskjöld)  
5.7.2024
The naTo
HMT Stage Night: Vincent Meissner Trio
26.6.2024
Moritzbastei
HMT Stage Night
19.6.2024
Moritzbastei
HMT Stage Night
12.6.2024
Moritzbastei
HMT Stage Night: Die Brandtmelder
6.6.2024
Moritzbastei
Olga Reznichenko Trio »Rhythm Dissection«
7.6.2024
die naTo
Koch/Puntin/Weber
29.6.2024
die naTo
Johannes Bigge Trio 
6.5.2024
die naTo
Jazzalala
29.5.2024
Park stage GeyserHaus
Blue Taps BLUE TAPS – Tap Dance & Jazz
29.5.2024
Kulturhof Gohlis (Saal)
SHRAMM ©etmir-idrizi SHRAMM »November Blues«
11.5.2024
die naTo
Trieders Holz by Teresa Coll Trieders wood
7.3.2024
Kulturhof Gohlis (Werkcafé)
Flashback  #35: Johnny Griffin (by Hübner/ Kleimann/ Mück/ Müller/ Trunk)
20.3.2024
The naTo
„Music for Black Pigeons“
11.2.2024
Cinema bar Prague Spring
Volker Heuken Sextett »Contemporary Jazz«
2.2.2024
the nato
Enders, Chicco, Rossy »MicroOrganisms«
16.2.2024
the nato
HMT Bigband ©Jeremy Thomas University big band "Moments in Time"
20.1.2024
die naTo
HMT Stage Night
30.1.2024
Moritzbastei
HMT Stage Night - The Profs
23.1.2024
Culture yard Gholis

Newsletter

Regular news about our festivals, concerts and the local jazz scene is also delivered directly to your mailbox.

I hereby consent to Jazzclub Leipzig e.V. sending me regular information about events and news in this context by e-mail. I can revoke my consent at any time. I accept the terms of use and have read the privacy policy.

Newsletter registration

Termine

MusikZeit 2015 / Denovali 10

UT Connewitz

T ! P

Festival mit Piano Interrupted, Poppy Ackroyd, Ricardo Donoso und Field Rotation

Das sagenumwobene Bochumer Independent-Label Denovali wird 10 – und der Jazzclub lädt vier Denovali-Acts zum alljährlichen Mini-Festival MusikZeit ein. In Darkjazz-, Ambient- und Drone-Kreisen genießt Denovali längst Legendenstatus – nicht nur dank seiner Swingfeste in Essen, Berlin und London, sondern auch wegen Künstlern wie Greg Haines, dem Hidden Orchestra oder Contemporary Noise Sextet.

Dichte Arrangements eines fragilen Klaviers, farbenreiche cineastische Klanglandschaften, organische, rhythmische Texturen und satte, warme Streicher: Piano Interrupted liefert zugleich ein einmaliges Hörerlebnis und eine Musik, in die man immer wieder neu eintauchen möchte, um ihre versteckten Geheimnisse und verzwickten Feinheiten zu entdecken. Es ist das gemeinsame Projekt des in London lebenden Pianisten und Komponisten Tom Hodge und des französischen Produzenten Franz Kirmann. Der eine liebt Klassik und Minimal, der andere Electronica, Pop und Techno. Freunde wurden sie dennoch, glücklicherweise sogar eine Band.

Läutende Wanduhren und Straßenlärm, aber auch Wellen- und Kiesklänge vom Strand in Brighton fließen in Poppy Ackroyds intime, schmerzlich schöne Musik. Mit unkonventionellen Spieltechniken entlockt die Londonerin ihren Instrumenten Klangtexturen, samplet sie und jagt sie durch Loop Station und andere Effektgeräte. Wobei „jagen“ hier falscher nicht sein könnte: Poppy Ackroyd streichelt vielmehr ihre Instrumente durch die Effekte hindurch. Klassisch ausgebildet an Piano und Violine, studierte sie Komposition in Edinburgh und ist seit vielen Jahren Teil des Hidden Orchestra.

Ricardo Donosos vielschichtiger ‚Anti-Techno‘ führt von den dunkelsten Schatten und Tiefen der Psyche zum sonnengeküssten Morgen in Rio de Janeiro: von eindringlich kahlen Soundlandschaften und traumhaften Bilderwelten zu Momenten großer Sehnsucht und Einsamkeit. Ricardo Donoso lebt in Boston, wo er am renommierten Berklee College und am New England Conservatory Komposition studierte. Der Brasilianer ist Drummer der Avant-Death-Metal-Band Ehnahre und Teil des Electronic-Duos Perispirit.

Der Komponist und Produzent Christoph Berg aus Kiel experimentiert seit 2008 als Field Rotation mit elektronischen und klassischen Elementen. Mit Violine und Piano verbindet er synthetisches Sound-Engineering und natürliche Klänge, um kurze Geschichten zu erzählen. Zwischen extremer Härte und ergreifender Melancholie entsteht so eine spürbare innere Zerbrechlichkeit.

Tickets im VVK bei Culton und TixForGigs.

Weitere Konzerte

HMT Big Band
21.1.2023
Die NaTo
Eva Klesse Quartett by Geraldine Hutt EVA KLESSE QUARTETT – das großes Jubiläumskonzert 
14.1.2023
die NaTo
Horace Silver by Dmitri Savitski FLASHBACK #31: Horace Silver (by Olga Resniczenko)
22.12.2022
Werkcafé Kulturhof Gohlis
Gelodert Szabó's Ideal Orchestra Gellért Szabó’s Ideal Orchester
5.12.2022
Die NaTo
EUPHORIUM
20.11.2022
naTo
Euphorium
19.12.2022
naTo
Bureau Bureau – ABGESAGT WEGEN KRANKHEIT
30.11.2022
Kulturhof Gohlis
Kreisberg meets Veras
21.11.2022
Kulturhof Gohlis
Mirna Bogdanovic – Achtung! Entfällt krankheitsbedingt, weitere Infos folgen –
18.11.2022
die nato
Kojack Kossakamvwe by Tobias Schuetze Workshopkonzert mit Kojack Kossakamvwe 
29.10.2022
Schaubühne Lindenfels
Tape Loop Workshop Tape Loop Workshop
28.10.2022
KUB Galerie
Nubya Garcia
22.10.2022
Oper Leipzig
Trio Amore by Jan König Trio Amore #1
23.10.2022
Libelle
Jazz & Klasse - Gespräch und improvisierte Musik Jazz & Klasse
25.10.2022
Moritzbastei
By Franca Silvestri Animali Notturni & Guests
26.10.2022
Moritzbastei
FIrst Date: Kalia/Kintopf/Requena Fuentes FIRST DATE: Kalima/Kintopf/Requena Fuentes 
26.10.2022
Moritzbastei
Moritz von Oswald by Marion Benoit Moritz von Oswald
22.10.2022
WERK 2, Halle D
Joe Sache & Nils Wogram by Corinne Haechler Joe Sachse Nils Wogram Duo »Freies Geröll«
23.10.2022
Paul-Gerhardt-Kirche
Morton Subotnick Morton Subotnick – ein audiovisueller Vortrag
28.10.2022
UT Connewitz
by Jonas Löllmann Tobias Hoffmann Trio
27.10.2022
Stadtbad (Saal)
Knistergeflüster
23.10.2022
Vary

Newsletter

Regelmäßige Neuigkeiten zu unseren Festivals, Konzerten und zur hiesigen Jazzszene gibt es auch direkt ins Postfach.

Hiermit willige ich ein, dass der Jazzclub Leipzig e.V. mir regelmäßig Information über Veranstaltungen und Neuigkeiten in diesem Zusammenhang per E-Mail zusendet. Meine Einwilligung kann ich jederzeit widerrufen. Die Nutzungsbedingungen akzeptiere ich und die Datenschutzerklärung habe ich gelesen.

Anmeldung zum Newsletter